What is it?
The Trash Can provides temporary storage for pages, spaces, channels, folders, articles and documents that members have deleted from the community. Items stay in the trash can for 30 days, allowing community administrators a period of time to browse and restore deleted files as needed.
Community Administrators can browse the contents of the trash can to recover content that was accidently deleted. Items will live in this folder for 30 days before being permanently deleted.
Features and functionality
This feature provides community Administrators with 30 days to recover accidentally deleted content. The trash can displays a summary, on the right-hand side of the page, that lists all the pieces of content that are stored inside. There is also a Recover button that shows a number, which indicates how many items are attached to a particular piece of content stored in the trash can.
How to use the trash can
Items that have been deleted can be recovered in the trash can. Like most administrative features, the trash can is accessed by navigating to the Overview tab in the Control Panel.
Step 1: Select the Control Panel
The Control Panel has a gear-like shape and is located on the right-hand side of the userbar.
Step 2: Navigate to Overview and select Trash Can.
Once you are in the Control Panel, navigate to the left-hand side of the panel, then under overview, select Trash Can.
Step 3: Recover the content that has been deleted
Once in the trash can, content can be recovered by selecting the recover button to the right of the item you want to recover. Here, you can see a summary of what is in the trash can and how many items will be recovered along with the content you have selected.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will my content be deleted instantly if I accidently send it to the trash can?
No, the trash can holds items for 30 days allowing you to recover it if needed.
How can I reuse the URL from a deleted space?
Because the deleted items are held for 30 days, you cannot reuse the URL you have deleted. In order to use that URL again, you will have to recover the page/space, rename the URL and then simply delete it again. This will free up the URL for you.
Best practices / Tips and tricks
Although the trash can holds content for 30 days, it’s best to assign a group of members the ability to delete items to help community Administrators can keep things under control. If someone accidently deletes a piece of content and does not recover it after 30 days, it is then permanently deleted from your community.