Delete - Action Button
What is it?
The delete function in the Action Button menu allows administrators to delete content from communities. Should you accidentally delete a channel, blog post, page etc., the Trash Can allows you to recover your content. For the most part the Action Button looks like a downward facing arrow but, when you want to invoke an action on a specific piece of content, it takes the form of three dots.
How to: Use the Delete Action
Are you looking to delete unwanted content from your community? You can use the delete functionality to delete content that you feel is not needed. The delete button will look different as you go from deleting a page or channel to deleting a specific piece of content such a task or a wiki article.
Step 1: Open the Action Button
Select the downward facing arrow icon located in the top right corner; this will open the Action Menu. From there, select Delete. The downward facing arrow will appear in the top right corner only if you have Administrator access. The Action Button will appear as an ellipses when you are trying to delete a specific piece of content.
Step 2: Delete
When you select the Action Button, a list of options appear. Select Delete from the list of options.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I retrieve my deleted content?
If you delete something you can retrieve it from the Trash Can. However, Tasks, Comments, and items saved as Drafts cannot be retrieved from the Trash Can.
Why can’t I delete a Microblog?
Our platform does not allow you to delete a microblog post. If you are an end user, there is the option to delete the microblog post from your sight but the post still exists if you have the url for the post. The best way to delete a microblog is to remove it from all of the channels that the post is shared with and delete the unwanted text from the WYSIWYG editor in the microblog post.