Some answers to a few questions we've received in Support this month
Access can be one of the most important things in your digital workplace. it determines who can read, create, change, or delete content. It affects what notifications people receive, what they see in widgets, and what they can find in search. It's often set up during your Igloo's implementation, and requires little adjustment after the fact. Every once in a while though, an administrator needs to make some tweaks to get something done. We got a few of those questions this month, and they're worth talking about.
How can I move content without sending notifications?
This happens. Something is published in the wrong channel and several people have commented on it before it can be moved to the correct location. More often, it's a popular post with a lot of engagement that needs to get moved for organizational reasons. But by default, people follow anything they comment on, so moving a post with two hundred comments can mean two hundred emails. Most times, that's what you want. When files get moved, the people following them need to know. That's why they followed them in the first place. But for large announcements or items being moved to reorganize your digital workplace's structure, it isn't necessary.
There is a solution. Members will only receive notifications from items they have access to. As an administrator, you can use the Access page for the item to eliminate all of the access rules applying to it. Disable the inheritance and clear the rules, and the only people left with access will be other administrators, or Space Administrators if it's in a Space. It will retain any followers it has, but can be moved without notifying them. This works for articles, files, even whole Channels. Once in its new home, you can reinstate the access rules and you've saved two hundred people an email.
Who can set the anonymous access option?
This is a common question during the first training we run for administrators. The Access page on any item has a setting for Anonymous Access. By default, it's set to None. Your digital workplace is private. But members with the right level of access can grant View-only access to anonymous users. Anonymous users, to the Igloo platform, are anyone who isn't a member. That includes people outside your organization, search engines, and my mum. This post is accessible to anonymous users. You don't have to log in to read it.
As you can imagine, opening up access to anonymous users is a choice that carries consequences, and isn't one to be made lightly. That access cascades like other access rules, letting you pass it down into all the content in a Channel, for instance. However, the ability to set that specific access option is restricted to full site administrators. Space Administrators and members with Full access to an item can't see or set that rule.
At your option, you can open this up to those members using a toggle in the Global Settings area of your digital workplace, shown here:
By default however, this choice remains in the hands of your administrators.
If you have other questions about access, the Igloo platform, workflows, or best practices, you can leave a comment here, or ask a question in the Community area.