The answers to a few of the questions we received over New Year's.
The new year can be a time of transition. For us, that often means helping clients onboard new administrators, assisting with digital workplace refreshes, and supporting migrations and expansions. Things brings an assortment of questions, which we're happy to answer here.
Can I password protect Igloo video embed?
Embedding videos lets you add them to blog posts, HTML Content widgets, or other areas of your digital workplace, in order to make tutorials or announcement videos available on other Channels and Pages. However, in organizations with diverse stakeholders, not everyone may need access to the videos in question. While password protection isn't currently supported by the platform, video embeds obey the same access rules as the file being embedded, so only members with access to the file will be able to see and play the embedded video.
Additionally, there are third party video tools that do support password protection, which can be useful for posting announcements that need to be available to a wider audience. Vimeo videos can be secured with a password as well as being embedded in your Igloo.
Can I move a Page and all sub-items from one Space to another?
There are a few layers to this question. Pages can be moved to another Space in the Site Manager. When a Page is moved like that, all of the contents beneath it will come with it. That includes Channels, articles, files, Tasks and comments. There's a deeper question about some of the other things that happen when you move a Page in that fashion, though. A few other things occur on the back end. Redirects are created from all of the items' old locations to their new ones, and each item is re-indexed in your digital workplace search, which can take a bit of time, depending on how many things were nested under the Page.
What happens if two members edit a Page and save at the same time?
This happens every once in a while. It's a race! Both versions of the Page are saved, but the winner's version is published in the digital workplace, while the other is saved as a previous version of the Page, and can be accessed by editing the Page and using the Page version dropdown. Only one version of a Page can be published, and the platform doesn't currently support simultaneous collaborative editing.
If you have questions about the Igloo platform, workflows, or best practices, you can leave a comment here, or ask a question in the Community area.