Site Manager

Site Manager

Site Manager

The Site Manager displays an interactive map of the Channels, Pages, and Spaces that are part of a digital workplace. Workplace Administrators can access the Site Manager from the Control Panel to Add, Move, Remove, and Edit the Channels, Pages, and Spaces in the workplace. The Navigation page of a Space provides Space Administrators with similar functionality.

Changes made on the Site Manager happen immediately.

Site%20Manager.png

Navigate the Sitemap

Click the plus button located to the left of a Page or Space to display the Pages and Channels located under it. Clicking this button again will hide the items located under the location. If a Page or Space does not have anything under it, this button is not displayed. 

Change the Homepage

The house icon next to an item in the Site Manager indicates that it is the current Homepage of the digital workplace. Users who navigate to the root URL of your digital workplace are brought to this location.

Change the Homepage by clicking the Homepage dropdown at the top of the Site Manager and then selecting an option from the list.

Add Channels, Pages, and Spaces

Click the Add button to view a list of items that can be added to the workplace. Options include:

Move Channels, Pages, and Spaces

Click and drag the Channel, Page, or Space to where you want it to be. As you drag the item over other items in the site manager a horizontal bar will indicate where the moved item will be placed when you release the mouse button. Holding the item over a Page or Space will expand its contents (if they are not already expanded). 

When you release the mouse button you may receive a popup warning that the URL path of the object will change. This message occurs when you move an item between Pages or Spaces, from the root of the workplace to a Page or Space, or from a Page or Space to the root of the workplace. Any links that provide navigation to the item's old location are redirected to the new location.

Edit Channels, Pages, and Spaces

Click the action button located (downward facing arrow) to the right of a Channel, Page, or Space to view what actions you can perform. These options will vary depending on the item but may include:

  • Quick Edit: Enter a new Title and URL.
  • Navigation: Select whether the item displays in the navigation, or is hidden. A hidden item can still be accessed and will still appear in search results. For Pages and Spaces, you can also select whether it has a drop-down that displays links to the items located under it. This drop-down only appears when the item is in the main navigation bar. 
  • Full Edit: Navigate to the item's Edit page.
  • View: Navigates to the item.
  • Access: Navigate to the item's Access page.
  • Settings: Navigate to the item's Settings page.
  • Delete: Delete the item and all of its contents from your workplace. Deleting a Page also deletes the Pages or Channels underneath it. Deleted items will exist in the Trash Can for 30 days. 

How to use the Site Manager

The Site Manager is the tool used to create the structure of your workplace. It’s where pages, spaces, and channels for content are created. To access the Site Manager and start building your workplace, check out the instructions that follow.

Step 1: Access the Site Manager

Select Site Manager under Presentation inside the Control Panel.

Control%20Panel%20-%20Site%20Manager.png

Step 2: Create channels (Blog, Calendar, Folder, Forums Microblog, Wiki, and Task), pages, and spaces.

Press the Add + button in the upper right-hand corner of the Site Manager, and choose the type of channel, page, or space you would like to create. The Site Manager provides a hierarchical overview of your digital workplace so you can set the navigation paths as you build your workplace simultaneously.

Site%20Manager%20-%20Add%20List.png

Note: By default your digital workplace comes with a built-in homepage, but you may change the homepage to any channel, page, or space you create by changing the homepage: drop-down menu.

Step 3: Remove content (if applicable)

Select the black downward facing arrow icon to the right of the channel, page, or space you wish to remove and select Delete

Site%20Manager%20-%20Delete%20(2).png

Step 4: Hide content from primary navigation (if applicable)

You may want to hide what you are working on until it is done and ready to be shared. To hide your work, select the back downward facing arrow icon to the right of the channel, page, or space and then, select Navigation. Place a checkmark next to Hide from navigation.

Site%20Manager%20-%20Navigation.png

Step 5: Configure the homepage

The homepage dropdown determines what users will visit when they navigate to the workplace URL. It can be set to any page at the root level of the workplace.

Site%20Manager%20-%20Homepage.png


Viewed 107 times