Answers to a few commons questions received by Igloo Support this month.
Summer brings heat and questions, as well as our new Digital Workplace Playbook, a repository of strategies and best practices to help guide you through your digital transformation. Look to it for help planning through your launch and beyond. There are only a few questions this month, so we'll get to it.
How can I enable Likes?
This question comes up in digital workplaces that are transitioning from being consumption-focused, where members are there solely to read content, to more collaborative workspaces, where members engage with each other more regularly. Likes, along with Broadcasts, Tasks, and many other features and functions, can be enabled or disabled from the Global Settings area of the Control Panel. Enabling elements here enables them everywhere in your digital workplace, so they can immediately be used by all of your members.
What happens when I move an item?
The short answer is: a lot. Moving an article or Channel has a number of consequences that can be relevant as you refresh Channels or reorganize content. Any time an item is moved, the following things happen:
- The move is logged in the item's Activity, as well as in your digital workplace's data feeds
- Anyone following the item with an Instant subscription is notified of the move.
- The item loses all of the access rules it was inheriting in its original location, and inherits all of the cascading rules of its new home.
- A redirect is created to direct traffic from the old location to the new one. This redirect persists until a new item is moved into the original location.
When reorganizing your digital workplace, it's vital to verify that the new access rules being inherited on an item are the ones you need, otherwise members can lose access to important documents or areas after a move.
If you have questions about the Igloo platform, workflows, or best practices, you can leave a comment here, or ask a question in the Community area.