August Grab Bag: Files and Urls
As the fall approaches, digital workplace administrators are reorganizing their Igloos and ensuring files are up to date in preparation for the last quarter. Here are a few questions that have come in this week about file uploads and digital workplace architecture.
How do article urls work?
The url of an article or file is set when it's published. Prior to publishing it will correspond to the draft id. The url will always specify the exact Channel location, and finish with the article's extension, which is generated directly from the title, so a post called "My new article" will have a url extension of /my_new_article. Articles with identical titles will have a number appended to the url, so a second article would be /my_new_article~2. Once published, an article's url extension can't be changed. It's built into the platform, so if the article is moved anywhere in your digital workplace, the platform can create a redirect that sends people accessing the old location to the new one.
What's the maximum file size in my digital workplace?
The maximum size for any one file in your digital workplace is two gigabytes. However, videos will only show a preview if they're under one gigabyte in size. The overall storage in your Igloo can be viewed in the Trash Can or Community Settings area of the Control Panel.
If you have questions about the Igloo platform, workflows, or best practices, you can leave a comment here, or ask a question in the Community area.
Thanks as always for your tips Jim. One thing I do for files and articles where I know I'm likely to share the URL and want a clean one is that I usually make the title what I want the permalink to be - one or two words max.
For example "Travel Policy" and then publish and then update the title to include more information like "Khoros Travel Policy (updated August 1st)" It requires one extra step at creation, but since the title change can be done without an edit triggering a notification, it works well and then new versions can be added/ edited without having the URL "out of sync"
For really highly shared content I also use the URL shortcuts tool so that we can have easy to remember URL shortcuts to share in emails / on flyers, etc.