Archiving

What is it?

Archiving allows you to protect and preserve old data in your digital workplace without adding clutter to your search results.
You can archive any piece of content manually, or automatically through Archiving Policies. Archived content is locked to prevent further edits or comments, and is removed from your default search results.
whatisit1.png

Use cases

Cleaning up search results

A lot of content ages out of relevance but is still important to have on record. Archiving allows you to remove old content like past events from your results, without deleting them from your workplace.

Protecting records

Archived content is protected from edits or comments and only people with Full Access can unarchive it.
This can be useful for preserving documents and conversations within a workplace for future reference while ensuring they are not changed.

Features and functionality

Prevent modification

Archived items cannot be edited or commented on, regardless of access level. To modify an archived item, it must first be unarchived.

Removed from search results

Archived items do not appear in search results by default. However, they can be shown if desired by selecting the Include Archived Content option in the search sidebar.
Archiving%20-%20Search.png

Hidden in folder views

When viewing a Folder Channel archived items are hidden. In a Details view, there is an option to show the archived items.
ff2.png

Manually Archive

If you have Full access on a post or file, you will have the option to Archive or Unarchive items in the Actions menu.
ff3.png

Automatically Archive

You can set up archiving policies on a workplace-wide basis, or channel by channel. More details are available in the Manage Archive article.


Viewed 91 times