Versions

Versions

What is it?

The Versions feature is a system that records changes to a file or published content over time so that you can recall specific versions later. It also allows you to revert back to previous versions of any file uploaded to your digital workplace. Wiki channel articles also support a form of version control.

whatisit1.png

Use Cases

Reviewing policy changes

As policies, procedures, and contracts are updated over time, it can be valuable to have records of those changes. By taking advantage of the versions feature, you can keep all of the changes in one location. Wikis, in particular, are useful for this as you can compare two versions within the platform.

Avoiding file clutter

A challenge with any file management system is keeping files organized. A big part of that is avoiding duplication of material. Version control on files allows you to keep all of your changes and updates to a file in a single location without ever having to make copies or delete old version and lose information.

Features and functionality

Version control applies to wiki articles and files uploaded to Folder channels. The version number of the content is always displayed in its information panel. If you have Write access or above, selecting the version number will show you a list of all versions, or you can access the version list through the content’s Action Menu.

ff1.png

While looking at previous versions of files or articles, it is possible to revert back to a previous version of that content.

ff2.png

ff3.png

Versions of files can be deleted by the Workplace administrator.

Wiki article versions allow you to compare two versions of the same article. Differences between the two versions will be highlighted. Green text represents new text, yellow is reformatted text, and text with a strikethrough is text that has been removed.

ff4.png

How to revert to a prior wiki article

Step 1: Navigate to the wiki article

Locate the wiki article that you want to revert to a previous version of.

Step 2: Select the Actions tab

Select Actions from the articles menu bar.

howto1step2.png

Step 3: Select, Versions

Select, Versions from the list of options.

howto1step3.png

Step 4: Select the time stamp value of the version you want to revert to

Next to each version there is a date stamp of when that version was created, select that time stamp.

howto1step4.png

Step 5: Select, Revert to this Version

At the top of the version you are brought to, there will be an option to Revert to this Version. Select this option to revert to this version.

howto1step5.png

How to compare versions of a wiki article

Step 1: Navigate to the wiki article

Locate the wiki article that you want to revert to a previous version of.

Step 2: Select the Actions tab

Select Actions tab from the articles menu bar.

howto2step2.png

Step 3: Select, Versions

Select, Versions from the list of options.

howto2step3.png

Step 4: Select articles to compare

Checkboxes will appear next to each version of the article. Select the two versions you wish to compare by selecting the checkboxes next to them, then select Compare selected versions.

howto2step4.png

How to download or delete older versions of a file

Locate the file that you want to revert to a previous version of.

Step 2: Select the Actions tab

Select the Actions tab from the articles menu bar.

howto3step2.png

Step 3: Select, Versions

Select, Versions from the list of options.

howto3step3.png

Step 4: Select, Download, Make Current, or Delete

You should now see the list of versions of the file. Next to every entry is a green arrow and a file size. Selecting the green arrow will download the older version. On the far right, you may also see the options to Make current and Delete depending on your access levels.

Select, Make current to create a new version of the file that is an exact copy of the version you selected.

Select, Delete to remove the old version from your records.

Note: Deleted versions do not appear in the Trash Can.

howto3step4.png

How to add a new version of a file

Locate the file that you want to revert to a previous version of.

Step 2: Select the Actions tab

Select the Actions tab from the articles menu bar.

howto4step2.png

Step 3: Select, Versions

Select, Versions from the list of options.

howto4step3.png

Step 4: Upload your file

Either drag and drop a file from your computer, or choose Select Files from your Computer and follow your browser’s prompts.

howto4step4.png

Note: Saving files via the Desktop Tool will add new versions as well.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why can I not see the Action Button or click on the version number?

You need at least Write access to view or modify versions. Check with the owner of the wiki or folder to confirm you have the correct level of access.

Why can I not delete an old file version?

You need Full access to delete old versions of files. Check with the owner of folder or file to confirm you have the correct level of access.

Do old versions count against my storage limit?

No, they do not. Only the most recent version is counted when calculating your current used data storage.

How do I prevent other people from overwriting my work?

You can reserve a document while you are working on it to prevent others from uploading new versions. For more information, see our article on Document Reservation.

Does the URL of a file or wiki article change when I upload a new version?

No, the URL will remain the same across all versions of the same file.


Viewed 139 times