06_Trash Can and Archiving
Managing Past Content
To keep important content in your digital workplace relevant and up-to-date, it's important to maintain and clean up content regularly. You have two options for managing content that is no longer relevant:
- Move it to the trash can
- Archive it
The Trash Can provides temporary storage for Pages, Spaces, Channels, or content that members have deleted from the site. Items stay in the trash can for 30 days, allowing site administrators time to recover accidentally deleted content. The trash can displays a summary on the right-hand side of the page that lists all the pieces of content that are stored inside. There is also a "Recover" button that shows a number indicating how many items are attached to a specific piece of content stored in the trash can.
Archiving helps to keep your content current while preserving and protecting older information on your site. Archived content is locked to prevent further edits or comments, and is removed from your default search results so search results are not cluttered with outdated information. If you wanted Archived content to appear in search, it can be shown by selecting the "Show Archived" option in the search sidebar.
Manage Archiving Policies
Content that is no longer relevant can be easily archived using Archiving Policies. This feature allows you to manage and view content that is archived or in queue to be archived.
Note: Only site administrators can access this feature. Space Administrators can only view and configure the Queue and Archive of their space.