Membership - Control Panel
What is it?
The Control Panel is home to all the advanced administrative controls for your site. Only digital workplace administrators or members of groups with elevated access can use the workplace Control Panel.
Features and Functionality
This feature allows you to manage all the user accounts in your site. To learn more, read the article, Manage Members.
This feature allows you to define manage member and space groups. It also allows you to assign people to groups. To learn more, read the article, Manage Groups.
This feature allows you to send Invitations to new users.
Create invitee list - This is where future member names and email addresses are entered and added to the list.
Add a personal message - This message will become part of the email invitees will receive. Selecting Remember this message will save the message and display it the next time an Administrator sends an invitation.
Custom welcome message - This message is sent to users who accept the invitation and become members of the workplace.
Update your custom message - This feature allows you to edit the custom welcome message. You can also specify a custom reply-to email address, so that users who reply will reach an actual person, as opposed to the firstname.lastname@example.org system email address.
Select invitee groups - You can add people to one or more Groups (e.g., system, member, space groups).
Points & Status
The Points & Status feature allows you to manage the gamification functionality within the site, specifically the milestone/badge sprites, status levels and points.
Configuration - This is where you can manage the Badge and Milestone sprite sheets. These are the icons that accompany the status displayed in a user profile. The technical requirements for the sprite sheets are listed in the Igloo platform for reference.
Reset all - This option disables the Points & Status functionality from the workplace, which means members will no longer see Points & Status on their profiles.
Status Levels - This is where you can define Status Levels. The Status and name of the status level attained will appear on the member’s profile when achieved.
Points - This is where you can define the points that are awarded for activity within the site.
This feature manages Public Registration for the site. This feature is only available when public access has been granted.
Public registration - This is where Public Registration is enabled or disabled. The URL for the Join Now button can be customized here as well.
Membership approval - Join requests can either require approval or be automatically approved. When approval is required, system administrators or members of groups with the Manage Registration Role will be able to approve memberships.
Custom Sign-in message - This is where the content of a welcome message to new users can be previewed and edited.
The sign-in settings enable or disable the Forgot Password and Remember Me functionality.
Frequently Asked Questions
What should I know about the Remember Me functionality and browsers?
This functionality uses browser cookies to keep the session alive, so the session will only be alive on the browser in which it was initiated (i.e., if it was initiated on Firefox it will be kept alive in Firefox). If a member deletes cookies from their browser, the session will be lost.
Do the custom welcome messages available in the Invitations and Public Registration features share the same message template?
No, these are separate message templates. You can make these utilize the same or different message contents as required.
Best practices / Tips & tricks
The Points & Status functionality is a great way of driving engagement and rewarding positive user activity on the site. When defining the milestones, design the first few levels to be relatively quickly attained so that newer users will see rewards for contributing content, but make the levels progressively harder so that users will need to contribute more content in order to attain the next reward level.