Here's what you need to know about the March 2020 Product Release.
What's included in the March 2020 Product Release?
Addition of content auto-restore functionality
Every user knows the frustration of composing a long, thoughtful document only to experience a last-second crash or power failure right before they click "Save". Losing content due to a timed out session or a crashed browser directly equates to lost productivity for a business. For this reason, we've introduced an auto-restore feature within our WYSIWYG editor. The update allows publishers to restore content including, comments and broadcast messages when an unexpected problem occurs. Auto-restore allows content creators time to focus on what's important without interrupting their workflow.
For all WYSIWYG editor instances, except tasks & HTML/Integration widgets, this enhancement will auto-save content every 3 seconds in the user's browser. If the user closes the browser by accident or their browser crashes, upon revisiting the page, the user will be prompted with the auto-recovery message. Content must be accessed within a period of 60 minutes before it's erased. This prompt will only appear once regardless of the number of editors/restore records found for that page.
Auto-recovery content is tied to the user. For example, if a user in Marketing was creating content and their browser crashed, another user from Marketing will not have visibility to the recovered content if they navigate to the same page. Users must also be logged into their digital workplace for the auto-recover feature to work.
NOTE: If a user sets their browser settings to clear cookies/data on exit, auto-recovery will not work if they close the browser window/chrome crashes.
Notification settings enhancements made for followed content
Users of the digital workplace have the ability to "follow" channel(s) or individual content. As a follower, the user will receive a notification email whenever anyone updates their followed content. This feature makes it easy for users to stay on top of issues most important to them as well as keep others in the loop.
For notifications to be effective, it's important to not overwhelm your audience and only share changes as needed. Currently, every time the content is edited, all followers of the content are notified of the change (no matter how big or small the change may be). This feature allows content managers to manage notifications to their followers and control when changes should be pushed out to users, removing unnecessary noise for content followers, leading to an increase in engagement.
With this release, digital workplace administrators will have the ability to enable the 'Notify Followers' functionality for their digital workplace. If enabled, content managers will have the option to manage notifications shared with their content followers when editing published content, allowing for effective and informative notifications. By default, this option is disabled. If disabled, followers will receive email notifications based on their subscription frequency. If enabled, no notifications will be sent to the content followers. If a user isin a content piece, they will still receive a notification regardless of this value.
Managing space member visibility
As part of this release, digital workplace administrators will have the ability to allow all users of the digital workplace access to view space members even if they do not have access to the space. This allows users to view minimal details of a space such as who they can contact without being a member of the space or having read access.
By default, this value will be disabled. When this feature is enabled, all digital workplace users will be able to view members of a space, even if they do not have read access to the space. This enhancement allows digital workplace administrators the ability to govern their digital workplace and provide authorization as needed.
Accessibility enhancements for 'Follow & Broadcast' buttons and 'Reports to' functionality
To help improve accessibility, this release includes a minor update to make the 'Follow & Broadcast' buttons in the footer accessible. Additionally, you can now use keyboard navigation to remove or change the information in the 'Report to' field.
|SD-4053||Profile field and custom profile field alignment issues|
|IGLOO-15512||Microblog channels don't submit without explicitly picking a channel|
|IGLOO-15382||To Do Approvals throws an unexpected error|
|IGLOO-15328||Account Lockout not working|
|IGLOO-15284||Forum Topic Widget sorting by likes rather than posting date|
|IGLOO-15263||Files don't retain custom Archiving Policies|
|IGLOO-15208||Bulk Upload doesn't validate email addresses|
|IGLOO-15171||Selecting the same day in Custom Activity breaks the count|
|IGLOO-15154||Future published content sent out notification before being published|
|IGLOO-13633||Configured session timeout prompts users to click Extend My Session multiple times|
on Pages being sent for drafts
|IGLOO-12408||Fullscreen feature for File Preview does not work on Chrome in Windows 10|
|IGLOO-10741||Unfollowing an instance of a calendar series requires a page refresh and a second click to unfollow for new users|
|IGLOO-9813||Archive times can be inconsistent|
|IGLOO-9606||Cursor jumps to the end of the text field when editing channel URL in Site Manager|
What's available for testing in my Preview environment?
All of these features, enhancements, and resolved issues are now available for testing in your Preview environment.