A collection of oversights that can interfere with workflows
We are used to seeing error messages when something goes wrong. But if there are key pieces missing from the workflow, it can cause silent issues that you may not notice until after the fact. This can make it tricky to catch these issues, and even trickier to solve them. Here are a few examples:
I emailed in content, but it didn't show up
Several channel types let you email in content, rather than adding it within the digital workplace itself. If someone emails you a question that could be better answered in a forum, you can forward it directly to an appropriate Forum Channel. Similarly, documents can be emailed to Folder Channels to take advantage of versioning and auditing, and Calendar Channels can be invited to your events and easily displayed in widgets on Pages and Spaces.
For this to work, there are a few requirements: Blog, Forum, and Wiki posts need to have a title to be posted to the digital workplace. The platform uses the email subject line as the title for the content, so if the email doesn't have a subject, your content won't be posted. However, Microblog and Folder channels don't have the same restrictions. Microblogs don't have titles, and Folder Channels only care about the files attached to the incoming email.
Another thing that matters is access. To create content, you need to have at least write access to the Channel. In this case, the email address being used needs to have access. If you try to send something from an external email that is not connected to a user with the correct access, it won't post.
My redirects are throwing errors!
URL shortcuts were used to redirect members if a page was moved to a new part of the site, which often happened as part of reorganizing a digital workplace. Now, your Igloo creates automatic redirects whenever anything is moved around, so you don't have to worry about creating broken links when your site grows and changes. You can still create URL shortcuts, and use them to divert people away from areas of the site that are still under construction, or to customize navigation links to link to particular content.
Older digital workplaces may still have URL shortcuts in place. When they're working as expected, it's easy to forget they exist. But if the content gets moved again, or another redirect is manually created that conflicts with the first, life becomes complicated. There are two kinds of issues that can arise:
- Redundant redirects start with a URL shortcut that sends you from page X to page Y. If page Y is moved, your site creates an automatic redirect to page Z. Now, when someone navigates to page X, they first get sent to Y, and then to Z. This can increase load time for the page and, in some cases, could result in noticeable delays or timeout errors.
- Recursive redirects also start with a URL shortcut that sends you from page X to page Y, after page X has been moved to Y. If Y is moved back to its original location at X, creating an automatic redirect, the redirects form a loop. Now, when you click X, your redirects will send you from X to Y, then back to X, then back to Y, and so on until the browser throws an error.
It's not always obvious when a bad redirect is causing an issue. Unless your members are watching the URL bar, they may not realize what's going on. Cleaning up URL shortcuts can be an important part of governance and maintenance practices in your digital workplace.
Can I make changes to my Theme Folder?
The Theme Folder is a default Folder Channel included in your site. It is hidden from navigation by default, and often will be labelled "Do Not Delete". Your theme folder is where appearance-related things are stored in your site. This can include banner images, code for enhancements, additional stylesheets, and elements that designers (yours or Igloo's) may have added to customize the look and feel of your digital workplace. Making changes to it should always be done with a measure of caution because moving or removing anything in the Channel will impact areas of your site that depend on them. Some things you should definitely not change:
- The URL of the Theme Folder Channel
- The name of the Theme Folder
- The access rules. In order for items to load, members need to have at least Read Access to them. For them to load on the Sign In screen, they need to be accessible to anonymous users.
- Never, ever delete the Theme Folder.
Any of these changes will interfere with how the elements in the Theme Folder interact with your site, often in unpredictable ways. As a best practice, rely on your organization's developers or engage Igloo when making changes in this area, unless provided guidance from the Styles Page in your digital workplace.
If you have other questions about access, the Igloo platform, workflows, or best practices, you can leave a comment here, or ask a question in the Community area.